web analytics
April 21, 2014 / 21 Nisan, 5774
At a Glance
InDepth
Sponsored Post
Spa 1.2 Combining Modern Living in Traditional Jerusalem

A unique and prestigious residential project in now being built in Mekor Haim Street in Jerusalem.



Home » InDepth » Monitor »

Let’s Go Blogging


Media-Monitor-logo

Share Button

It’s been nearly six months since the Monitor’s last listing of worthwhile websites and blogs. It’s time for an updated list, but this time we’re sticking only to blogs – no conventional websites, newspapers, magazines, etc. As always, there’s no particular order to the list, and the views expressed on the various blogs don’t necessarily reflect those of the Monitor.

Jewish Current Issues (jpundit_typepad.com/jci)

Neo-Neocon (neo-neocon.com)

Cross-Currents (cruss-currents.com)

Captain’s Quarters (captainsquartersblog.com)

Jewish Literary Review (jewishliteraryreview.com)

The Oxford Medievalist (oxfordmedievalist.blogspot.com)

Contentions (commentarymagazine.com/contentions)

Hirhurim/Musings (hirhurim.blogspot.com)

Emes Ve-Emunah (haemtza.blogspot.com)

The Trail (blog.washingtonpost.com/the-trail)

InstaPundit (instapundit.com)

Jules Crittenden (julescrittenden.com)

The Socialism of Fools (socfools.blogspot.com)

Sultan Knish (sultanknish.blogspot.com)

Seraphic Secret (seraphicpress.com)

Rootless Cosmopolitan (tonykaron.com)

Melanie Phillips’s Diary (melaniephillips.com/diary)

The Jewish Press Blog (thejewishpress.blogspot.com)

Lazer Beams (lazerbrody.typepad.com)

Marc Ambinder (marcambinder.theatlantic.com)

The Daily Howler (dailyhowler.com)

Snarksmith (snarksmith.com)

IsraPundit (israpundit.com)

Political Mavens (politicalmavens.com)

The Belmont Club (fallbackbelmont.blogspot.com)

The Zionist Conspiracy (jschick.blogspot.com)

Boker Tov, Boulder! (bokertov.typepad.com/btb)

Power Line (powerlineblog.com)

News Busters (newsbusters.org)

Pajamas Media (pajamasmedia.com)

Smooth Stone (smoothstone.blogspot.com)

James Wolcott (jameswolcott.com)

OxBlog (oxblog.blogspot.com)

LILEKS (lileks.com)

A Simple Jew (asimplejew.blogspot.com)

Decision’08 (decision08.net)

PoliPundit (polipundit.com)

AtlanticBlog (atlanticblog.com)

Soccer Dad (soccerdad.baltiblogs.com)

Faith and Fear in Flushing (faithandfear.blogharbor.com)

Mets Fan Blog (danabrand.com)

Share Button

About the Author: Jason Maoz is the Senior Editor of The Jewish Press.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

No Responses to “Let’s Go Blogging”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
BDS targets Zabar's; Carole Zabar promotes BDS proponents.
All in the Family: BDS Protests Zabars; Carole Zabar Promotes BDS
Latest Indepth Stories
Imam Suhail Webb who boasted his Muslim community persuaded Brandeis President Fred Lawrence to withdraw an invitation to Ayaan Hirsi Ali.

At Brandeis, much of what counts as Western civilization got cold feet and won’t stand with Hirsi Ali.

Text of anti-Semitic flyer distributed to Jews in Donetsk, Ukraine on Passover 2014.

But the lesson from this meditation is that hidden behind the anti-semitic act is the greatest light.

Yossi Klein HaLevi

As support of their messianic dream, Halevi and Antepli approve dishonoring Hirsi Ali as a ‘renegade.’

matza

If itis a mitzva to eat matza all Pesach, then why is there no berakha attached to it?

When we are united with unconditional love, no stone will be raised against us by our enemies.

The reporter simply reports the news, but it is greater to be inspired to better the situation.

The Big Bang theory marked the scientific community’s first sense of the universe having a beginning.

Freeing convicted murderers returns the status of Jewish existence to something less than sanctified.

“The bigger they are the harder they fall” describes what God had in mind for Olmert.

We, soldiers of the IDF, who stand guard over the people and the land, fulfill the hopes of the millions of Jewish people across the generations who sought freedom.

How much is the human mind able to grasp of the Divine?

Jews have brought the baggage of the galut (exile) mentality to the modern state of Israel.

The Haggadah is an instruction manual on how to survive as strangers in strange lands.

It’s finally happened. New York Times public editor Margaret Sullivan reported on her blog that “many readers…wrote to object to an [April 2] article…on the breakdown in peace talks between Israel and the Palestinians,” claiming “[they] found the headline misleading and the article itself lacking in context.” Ms. Sullivan provided one such letter, quoted the […]

Nor did it seem relevant that according to widely circulated media reports, Rev. Sharpton was caught on an FBI surveillance video discussing possible drug sales with an FBI agent.

More Articles from Jason Maoz
Bob Grant

What really makes one wonder about the affinity felt by certain Jews for Grant was the welcome mat he put out for some of the country’s most pernicious anti-Semites.

Camelot-112213

With 2013 marking half a century since Kennedy’s fateful limousine ride in Dallas, the current revels are exceeding the revisionist frenzies of years past, with a seemingly endless parade of books, articles and television specials designed to assure us that, despite everything that has come to light about him since his death, JFK was a great president, or at least a very good president who would have been great had his life not been so cruelly cut short.

As someone who for the past fifteen years has been writing a column that largely focuses on the news media, I’ve read what is no doubt an altogether unhealthy number of books on the subject. Most of them were instantly forgettable while some created a brief buzz but failed to pass the test of time. And then there were those select few that merited a permanent spot on the bookshelf.

George W. Bush has been getting some positive media coverage lately, with recent polls showing him at least as popular as his successor, Barack Obama, and a big new book about the Bush presidency by New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker (Days of Fire, Doubleday) portraying Bush as a much more hands-on chief executive than his detractors ever imagined.

Readers who’ve stuck with the Monitor over the years will forgive this rerun of sorts, but as we approach the fortieth anniversary of the Yom Kippur War – and with the stench of presidential indecisiveness hanging so heavily over Washington these days – it seemed only appropriate to revisit Richard Nixon’s role in enabling Israel to recover from the staggering setbacks it suffered in the first week of fighting.

Shakespeare had it right. The evil that men do indeed lives after them. Case in point: Nahum Goldmann, who served in a variety of Jewish and Zionist organizational leadership posts from the 1920s through the 1970s.

Oscar “Ossie” Schectman, who scored the first basket in the history of the league that evolved into the National Basketball Association, died last week at age 94.

It’s certainly been a while, hasn’t it? And yet it seems like the conversation was never really interrupted, as I’ve enjoyed, in the three and a half months since this column last appeared, many an interesting exchange, via e-mail and phone, with some very intelligent readers.

    Latest Poll

    Now that Kerry's "Peace Talks" are apparently over, are you...?







    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/media-monitor/lets-go-blogging/2008/02/27/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: