web analytics
April 16, 2014 / 16 Nisan, 5774
At a Glance
InDepth
Sponsored Post
Spa 1.2 Combining Modern Living in Traditional Jerusalem

A unique and prestigious residential project in now being built in Mekor Haim Street in Jerusalem.



Home » InDepth » Monitor »

Recommended Websites And Blogs


Media-Monitor-logo

Share Button

It’s been a while since the Monitor’s last listing of worthwhile websites and blogs. As always, there’s no particular order to the list, and the views expressed on the various websites and blogs do not necessarily reflect the Monitor’s.

Some sites that appeared on the most recent list, back in February, have been removed either because they’ve become less active or because the Monitor simply lost interest in their content. Several new additions appear in their place.

Jewish Current Issues (jpundit.typepead.com/jci)

Contentions (commentarymagazine.com/contentions)

Seraphic Secret (seraphicpress.com)

The Daily Howler (dailyhowler.com)

Spengler (firstthingscom/blogs/spengler)

IsraPundit (israpundit.com)

Power Line (powerlineblog.com)

Smooth Stone (smoothstone.blog.com)

James Wolcott (vanityfair.com/online/wolcott)

OxBlog (oxblog.blogspot.com)

LILEKS (lileks.com)

Soccer Dad (soccerdad.baltiblogs.com)

Real Clear Politics (realclearpolitics.com)

The Atlantic Online (theatlantic.com)

News From Israel (isrinfo.demon.co.uk)

The Politico (politico.com)

Sultan Knish (sultanknish.blogspot.com)

Arts & Letters Daily (aldaily.com)

The Telegraph (blogs.jta.org/telegraph)

Capital J (blogs.jta.org/politics)

Front Page Magazine (frontpagemag.com)

The American Thinker (americanthinker.com)

Emes Ve-Emunah (haemtza.blogspot.com)

InstaPundit (instapundit.com)

National Review Online (nationalreview.com)

Jewish World Review (jewishworldreview.com)

Times Watch (timeswatch.org)

Jules Crittenden (julescrittenden.com)

Hirhurim/Musings (hirhurim.blogspot.com)

Cross-Currents (cross-currents.com)

The New Nixon Blog (thenewnixon.org)

The Daily Beast (thedailybeast.com)

The Tablet (tabletmag.com)

Melanie Phillips’s Diary (melaniephillips.com/diary)

The American Spectator (spectator.org)

Snarksmith (snarksmith.com)

The New Republic (tnr.com)

Regret The Error (regrettheerror.com)

Political Mavens (politicalmavens.com)

Brain Terminal (brain-terminal.com)

Boker Tov, Boulder! (bokertov.typepad.com/btb)

Media Matters (mediamatters.org)

News Busters (newsbusters.org)

The Bagelnosher Blog (bagelnosher.blogspot.com)

American History (americanheritage.com)

The Weekly Standard (weeklystandard.com)

Pajamas Media (pajamasmedia.com)

Think-Israel (think-israel.org)

Little Green Footballs (littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog)

A Simple Jew (asimplejew.blogspot.com)

Yeshiva World News (theyeshivaworld.com)

Vos Iz Neias (vosizneias.com)

PoliPundit (polipundit.com)

Haaretz (haaretz.com)

AtlanticBlog (atlanticblog.com)

This Modern World (thismodernworld.com)

The Huffington Post (huffingtonpost.com)

The American Prospect (prospect.org)

Jewcy (jewcy.com)

The Politicker (observer.com/thepoliticker)

Media Research Center (mrc.org)

Baseball Crank (baseballcrank.com)

Faith and Fear in Flushing (faithandfear.blogharbor.com)

Mets Fan Blog (danabrand.com/blog)

Jason Maoz can be reached at jmaoz@jewishpress.com

Share Button

About the Author: Jason Maoz is the Senior Editor of The Jewish Press.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

No Responses to “Recommended Websites And Blogs”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
The interior of the El Ghriba synagogue on the island of Djerba, Tunisia, in 2009.
Tunisian Jew Stabbed in Djerba
Latest Indepth Stories
Chief IDF Rabbi Rafi Peretz

We, soldiers of the IDF, who stand guard over the people and the land, fulfill the hopes of the millions of Jewish people across the generations who sought freedom.

Lebovic-041814

How much is the human mind able to grasp of the Divine?

Benveniste-041814

Jews have brought the baggage of the galut (exile) mentality to the modern state of Israel.

Dann-041814

The Haggadah is an instruction manual on how to survive as strangers in strange lands.

It’s finally happened. New York Times public editor Margaret Sullivan reported on her blog that “many readers…wrote to object to an [April 2] article…on the breakdown in peace talks between Israel and the Palestinians,” claiming “[they] found the headline misleading and the article itself lacking in context.” Ms. Sullivan provided one such letter, quoted the […]

Nor did it seem relevant that according to widely circulated media reports, Rev. Sharpton was caught on an FBI surveillance video discussing possible drug sales with an FBI agent.

Jewish soldiers in the Polish forces often encountered anti-Semitic prejudice.

When the state was established, gedolim went to Ben-Gurion and asked him not to draft women and, later, yeshiva bachrim.

Perhaps worse than all the above is the acute lack of unity among Jews

At our seder we emulate the way it was celebrated in Temple times, as if the Temple still stood.

Not one world leader holds Abbas accountable for his part in the breakdown of negotiations.

The 1948 re-establishment of Jewish sovereignty was a modern day Exodus and Parting of the Sea.

Spies who caused American deaths and worked for enemy states received lighter sentences than Pollard.

Christie’s “good friend” is an Imam who supports murderers of Jews and defames Israel and Christians.

More Articles from Jason Maoz
Bob Grant

What really makes one wonder about the affinity felt by certain Jews for Grant was the welcome mat he put out for some of the country’s most pernicious anti-Semites.

Camelot-112213

With 2013 marking half a century since Kennedy’s fateful limousine ride in Dallas, the current revels are exceeding the revisionist frenzies of years past, with a seemingly endless parade of books, articles and television specials designed to assure us that, despite everything that has come to light about him since his death, JFK was a great president, or at least a very good president who would have been great had his life not been so cruelly cut short.

As someone who for the past fifteen years has been writing a column that largely focuses on the news media, I’ve read what is no doubt an altogether unhealthy number of books on the subject. Most of them were instantly forgettable while some created a brief buzz but failed to pass the test of time. And then there were those select few that merited a permanent spot on the bookshelf.

George W. Bush has been getting some positive media coverage lately, with recent polls showing him at least as popular as his successor, Barack Obama, and a big new book about the Bush presidency by New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker (Days of Fire, Doubleday) portraying Bush as a much more hands-on chief executive than his detractors ever imagined.

Readers who’ve stuck with the Monitor over the years will forgive this rerun of sorts, but as we approach the fortieth anniversary of the Yom Kippur War – and with the stench of presidential indecisiveness hanging so heavily over Washington these days – it seemed only appropriate to revisit Richard Nixon’s role in enabling Israel to recover from the staggering setbacks it suffered in the first week of fighting.

Shakespeare had it right. The evil that men do indeed lives after them. Case in point: Nahum Goldmann, who served in a variety of Jewish and Zionist organizational leadership posts from the 1920s through the 1970s.

Oscar “Ossie” Schectman, who scored the first basket in the history of the league that evolved into the National Basketball Association, died last week at age 94.

It’s certainly been a while, hasn’t it? And yet it seems like the conversation was never really interrupted, as I’ve enjoyed, in the three and a half months since this column last appeared, many an interesting exchange, via e-mail and phone, with some very intelligent readers.

    Latest Poll

    Now that Kerry's "Peace Talks" are apparently over, are you...?







    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/media-monitor/recommended-websites-and-blogs-2/2009/10/14/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: