web analytics
July 28, 2014 / 1 Av, 5774
Israel at War: Operation Protective Edge
 
 
At a Glance
InDepth
Sponsored Post
IDC Advocacy Room IDC Fights War on Another Front

Student Union opens ‘hasbara’ room in effort to fill public diplomacy vacuum.



Home » InDepth » Monitor »

Web Choices 2007


Media-Monitor-logo

It’s been a year since the Monitor’s last listing of worthwhile websites and blogs, so here’s an updated version. Some of the sites that appeared on previous lists have been removed (either they went defunct or simply failed to hold the Monitor’s interest) and several new ones have been added.

As always, there is no particular order to the list, and views expressed on the various sites don’t necessarily reflect the Monitor’s.

Jewish Current Issues (jpundit.typepad.com/jci)
Neo-Neocon (neo-neocon.com)
Real Clear Politics (realclearpolitics.com)
News From Israel (http://www.isrinfo.demon.co.uk)
The Politico (capitolleader.com)
Captain’s Quarters (captainsquartersblog.com/mt)
Arts & Letters Daily (aldaily.com)
Front Page Magazine (frontpagemag.com)
Hirhurim/Musings (hirhurim.blogspot.com)
The American Thinker (americanthinker.com)
Seraphic Secret (seraphicpress.com)
Mediacrity (mediacrity.blogspot.com)
InstaPundit (instapundit.com)
National Review Online (nationalreview.com)
Jewish World Review (jewishworldreview.com)
Times Watch (timeswatch.org)
Emes Ve-Emunah (haemtza.blogspot.com)
Melanie Phillips’s Diary (melaniephillips.com/diary)
Lazer Beams (lazerbrody.typepad.com)
The American Spectator (spectator.org)
The Daily Howler (dailyhowler.com)
IsraPundit (israpundit.com)
Press Think (journalism.nyu.edu/pubzone/weblogs/pressthink)
Sultan Knish (sultanknish.blogspot.com)
Brain Terminal (brain-terminal.com)
The New Republic (tnr.com)
The Canonist (canonist.com)
Regret The Error (regrettheerror.com)
Democracy For the Middle East (dfme.org)
Orthomom (orthomom.blogspot.com)
Political Mavens (politicalmavens.com)
Cross-Currents (cross-currents.com)
The Belmont Club (fallbackbelmont.blogspot.com)
The Zionist Conspiracy (jschick.blogspot.com)
Boker Tov, Boulder! (bokertov.typepad.com/btb)
Media Matters (mediamatters.org)
Power Line (powerlineblog.com)
AJ History (ajhistory.blogspot.com – site inactive but archives are accessible.)
News Busters (newsbusters.org)
Jewess (jewess.canonist.com)
Pajamas Media (pajamasmedia.com)
Smooth Stone (smoothstone.blogspot.com)
Think-Israel (think-israel.org)
James Wolcott (jameswolcott.com)
Little Green Footballs (littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog)
OxBlog (oxblog.blogspot.com)
LILEKS (lileks.com)
A Simple Jew (asimplejew.blogspot.com)
Decision’08 (decision08.net)
CampusJ (campusj.com)
Altweeklies (altweeklies.com)
Yeshiva World (theyeshivaworld.com)
Marvin Schick (mschick.blogspot.com)
PoliPundit (polipundit.com)
Free Republic (freerepublic.com/home.htm)
Nextbook (nextbook.org)
Haaretz (haaretz.com)
Libertas (libertyfilmfestival.com/libertas)
AtlanticBlog (atlanticblog.com)
Ynetnews (ynetnews.com)
This Modern World (thismodernworld.com)
Roger L. Simon (rogerlsimon.com)
Israel Insider (israelinsider.com)
The Huffington Post (huffingtonpost.com)
The American Prospect (prospect.org)
CAMERA (camera.org)
Soccer Dad (soccerdad.baltiblogs.com)
Right Wing News (rightwingnews.com)
The Politicker (observer.com/thepoliticker)
Media Research Center (mrc.org)
Faith and Fear in Flushing (faithandfear.blogharbor.com)
Baseball Crank (baseballcrank.com)

About the Author: Jason Maoz is the Senior Editor of The Jewish Press.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “Web Choices 2007”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
Michael Oren, Dec. 16, 2013.
Ambassador Michael Oren Warns Obama is Legitimizing Hamas
Latest Indepth Stories
Young children 'recruited' by the Al Qaeda-inspired Islamic State of Iraq and al-Shams (ISIS) terrorist group for a Shari'a jihadist army in Iraq and Syria.

ISIS poses a great threat to the entire civilized world in general and liberal democracies in particular.

kerry clown

Kerry is preoccupied with pressuring Israel, notwithstanding the transformation of the Arab Spring .

journalism

With no shortage of leftist media that seek to distort the news, what should our Torah response be?

Jewish Home leader Naftali Bennett

Because let’s face it: Hamas obviously can’t defeat the IDF in the field, soldier against soldier

As Peres retires, Israel fights sour legacy: Insistence on setting policy in line with hopes, rather than with reality.

Our capital was not arbitrarily chosen, as capitals of some other nations were.

UNHRC High Commissioner Navi Pillay accuses the IDF of possible war crimes in Gaza again, cutting slack to Hamas.

There is much I can write you about what is going here, but I am wondering what I should not write. I will start by imagining that I am you, sitting at home in the Los Angeles area and flipping back and forth between the weather, traffic reports, the Ukraine, Mexican illegals and Gaza. No […]

Should Jews in Europe take more responsibility in self-defense of community and property?

It is time for a total military siege on Gaza; Nothing should enter the Gaza Strip.

Germany’s The Jewish Faith newspaper ominously noted, “We Jews are in for a war after the war.”

The truth is we seldom explore with kids what prayer is supposed to be about.

Almost as one, Jews around the world are acknowledging the day-to-day peril facing ordinary Jews in Israel and the extraordinary service of the IDF in protecting them.

More Articles from Jason Maoz
Presidential-Seal-062014

These are not necessarily the best all-around biographies or studies of the individual presidents listed (though some rank right up there), but the strongest in terms of exploring presidential attitudes and policies toward Israel.

Clinton-051614

The Clintonan “engagement” liberals remember with such fondness did nothing but embolden Arafat and Hamas and Hizbullah as they witnessed Israel’s only real ally elevate process ahead of policy.

What really makes one wonder about the affinity felt by certain Jews for Grant was the welcome mat he put out for some of the country’s most pernicious anti-Semites.

With 2013 marking half a century since Kennedy’s fateful limousine ride in Dallas, the current revels are exceeding the revisionist frenzies of years past, with a seemingly endless parade of books, articles and television specials designed to assure us that, despite everything that has come to light about him since his death, JFK was a great president, or at least a very good president who would have been great had his life not been so cruelly cut short.

As someone who for the past fifteen years has been writing a column that largely focuses on the news media, I’ve read what is no doubt an altogether unhealthy number of books on the subject. Most of them were instantly forgettable while some created a brief buzz but failed to pass the test of time. And then there were those select few that merited a permanent spot on the bookshelf.

George W. Bush has been getting some positive media coverage lately, with recent polls showing him at least as popular as his successor, Barack Obama, and a big new book about the Bush presidency by New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker (Days of Fire, Doubleday) portraying Bush as a much more hands-on chief executive than his detractors ever imagined.

Readers who’ve stuck with the Monitor over the years will forgive this rerun of sorts, but as we approach the fortieth anniversary of the Yom Kippur War – and with the stench of presidential indecisiveness hanging so heavily over Washington these days – it seemed only appropriate to revisit Richard Nixon’s role in enabling Israel to recover from the staggering setbacks it suffered in the first week of fighting.

Shakespeare had it right. The evil that men do indeed lives after them. Case in point: Nahum Goldmann, who served in a variety of Jewish and Zionist organizational leadership posts from the 1920s through the 1970s.

    Latest Poll

    Do you think the FAA ban on US flights to Israel is political?






    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/media-monitor/web-choices-2007/2007/03/14/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: