web analytics
August 21, 2014 / 25 Av, 5774
Israel at War: Operation Protective Edge
 
 
At a Glance
InDepth
Sponsored Post
Jerusalem Mayor Nir Barkat (L) visits the JewishPress.com booth at The Event. And the Winners of the JewishPress.com Raffle Are…

Congratulations to all the winners of the JewishPress.com raffle at The Event



Home » InDepth » Monitor »

Web Choices 2007/Revised Edition


Media-Monitor-logo

It’s been several months since the Monitor’s last listing of worthwhile websites and blogs, so here’s an updated version. Some of the sites that appeared on previous lists have been removed (either they went defunct, lapsed into relative inactivity, or simply failed to hold the Monitor’s interest) and a number of new ones have been added.

As always, there is no particular order to the list, and views expressed on the various sites don’t necessarily reflect the Monitor’s.

Jewish Current Issues (jpundit.typepad.com/jci)
Neo-Neocon (neo-neocon.com)
Real Clear Politics (realclearpolitics.com)
Alastair’s Heart Monitor (almax.wordpress.com)
News From Israel (isrinfo.demon.co.uk)
The Politico (politico.com)
Sultan Knish (sultanknish.blogspot.com)
Captain’s Quarters (captainsquartersblog.com)
Arts & Letters Daily (aldaily.com)
The Oxford Medievalist (oxfordmedievalist.blogspot.com)
Contentions (commentarymagazine.com/contentions)
Front Page Magazine (frontpagemag.com)
Hirhurim/Musings (hirhurim.blogspot.com)
The American Thinker (americanthinker.com)
Seraphic Secret (seraphicpress.com)
Emes Ve-Emunah (haemtza.blogspot.com)
The Trail (blog.washingtonpost.com/the-trail)
InstaPundit (instapundit.com)
National Review Online (nationalreview.com)
Jewish World Review (jewishworldreview.com)
Times Watch (timeswatch.org)
Jules Crittenden (julescrittenden.com)
Cross-Currents (cross-currents.com)
Rootless Cosmopolitan (tonykaron.com)
Melanie Phillips’s Diary (melaniephillips.com/diary)
The Jewish Press Blog (thejewishpress.blogspot.com)
Lazer Beams (lazerbrody.typepad.com)
The American Spectator (spectator.org)
Marc Ambinder (marcambinder.theatlantic.com)
The Daily Howler (dailyhowler.com)
Snarksmith (snarksmith.com)
IsraPundit (israpundit.com)
Press Think (journalism.nyu.edu/pubzone/weblogs/pressthink)
The New Republic (tnr.com)
Regret The Error (regrettheerror.com)
Orthomom (orthomom.blogspot.com)
Political Mavens (politicalmavens.com)
Brain Terminal (brain-terminal.com)
The Belmont Club (fallbackbelmont.blogspot.com)
The Zionist Conspiracy (jschick.blogspot.com)
Boker Tov, Boulder! (bokertov.typepad.com/btb)
Media Matters (mediamatters.org)
Power Line (powerlineblog.com)
AJ History (ajhistory.blogspot.com – site inactive but archives are accessible)
News Busters (newsbusters.org)
American History (americanheritage.com)
Jewess (jewess.canonist.com)
Deadline Hollywood Daily (deadlinehollywooddaily.com)
Pajamas Media (pajamasmedia.com)
World Net Daily (worldnetdaily.com)
Smooth Stone (smoothstone.blogspot.com)
Think-Israel (think-israel.org)
James Wolcott (jameswolcott.com)
Little Green Footballs (littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog)
OxBlog (oxblog.blogspot.com)
LILEKS (lileks.com)
A Simple Jew (asimplejew.blogspot.com)
Decision’08 (decision08.net)
Altweeklies (altweeklies.com)
Yeshiva World (theyeshivaworld.com)
Marvin Schick (mschick.blogspot.com)
PoliPundit (polipundit.com)
Jewish Legends (jewishlegends.com)
Free Republic (freerepublic.com/home.htm)
Nextbook (nextbook.org)
Haaretz (haaretz.com)
Libertas (libertyfilmfestival.com/libertas)
AtlanticBlog (atlanticblog.com)
Ynetnews (ynetnews.com)
This Modern World (thismodernworld.com)
Roger L. Simon (rogerlsimon.com)
Israel Insider (israelinsider.com)
The Huffington Post (huffingtonpost.com)
The American Prospect (prospect.org)
CAMERA (camera.org)
Soccer Dad (soccerdad.baltiblogs.com)
Jewcy (jewcy.com)
Right Wing News (rightwingnews.com)
The Politicker (observer.com/thepoliticker)
Media Research Center (mrc.org)
Faith and Fear in Flushing (faithandfear.blogharbor.com)
Baseball Crank (baseballcrank.com)
Mets Fan Blog (danabrand.com)

About the Author: Jason Maoz is the Senior Editor of The Jewish Press.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “Web Choices 2007/Revised Edition”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
An IAF fighter jet on the way to a mission.
Israel Confirms: 3 Top Hamas Military Commanders Killed in Gaza
Latest Indepth Stories
ZIM Piraeus in happier days. (Image: ShipSpotting.com user b47b56)

ZIM Piraeus isn’t Israeli-owned or flagged, incidentally, it is Greek operated.

PM Benjamin Netanyahu

Foolish me, thinking the goals were the destruction of Hamas thereby giving peace a real chance.

Sgt. Sean Carmeli, ZT"L

The free-spirted lifestyle didn’t hold your interest; the needs of your people did.

And why would the U.S. align itself on these issues with Turkey and Qatar, longtime advocates of Hamas’s interests?

Several years ago the city concluded that the metzitzah b’peh procedure created unacceptable risks for newborns in terms of the transmission of neo-natal herpes through contact with a mohel carrying the herpes virus.

The world wars caused unimaginable anguish for the Jews but God also scripted a great glory for our people.

Judging by history, every time Hamas rebuilds their infrastructure, they are stronger than before.

His father asked him to read Psalms from the Book of Tehilim every day.

(Reposted with permission from author’s website) Moderate truth-teller Daniel Pipes (Dream) has further moderated his stance on Islam by actually entertaining the idea of “Moderate Islamism”, with Andrew C. McCarthy- whom I’ve debated about this- giving it some credence. We’ve gone from Naming the Enemy -Nazism, Communism- to Renaming the Enemy – “Islamic Totalitarianism”, “Radical Islam”, “Islamism”, […]

Maimonides: “Your 1 mitzva may tip the scales and bring redemption to the entire world and creation”

Jerusalem has been aware of the importance of China to its growth and security.

In other words, how by any rational playbook can one even begin to explain anti-Semitism?

Israel has nine Iron Domes, but you Mr. Hannity are the tenth.

Entire movements within “orthodoxy” propagate a Judaism of outlandish folklore and Jewish mysticism

The Rebbetzin began campaigning to increase public awareness of the importance of saying Amen.

More Articles from Jason Maoz
Presidential-Seal-062014

These are not necessarily the best all-around biographies or studies of the individual presidents listed (though some rank right up there), but the strongest in terms of exploring presidential attitudes and policies toward Israel.

Clinton-051614

The Clintonan “engagement” liberals remember with such fondness did nothing but embolden Arafat and Hamas and Hizbullah as they witnessed Israel’s only real ally elevate process ahead of policy.

What really makes one wonder about the affinity felt by certain Jews for Grant was the welcome mat he put out for some of the country’s most pernicious anti-Semites.

With 2013 marking half a century since Kennedy’s fateful limousine ride in Dallas, the current revels are exceeding the revisionist frenzies of years past, with a seemingly endless parade of books, articles and television specials designed to assure us that, despite everything that has come to light about him since his death, JFK was a great president, or at least a very good president who would have been great had his life not been so cruelly cut short.

As someone who for the past fifteen years has been writing a column that largely focuses on the news media, I’ve read what is no doubt an altogether unhealthy number of books on the subject. Most of them were instantly forgettable while some created a brief buzz but failed to pass the test of time. And then there were those select few that merited a permanent spot on the bookshelf.

George W. Bush has been getting some positive media coverage lately, with recent polls showing him at least as popular as his successor, Barack Obama, and a big new book about the Bush presidency by New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker (Days of Fire, Doubleday) portraying Bush as a much more hands-on chief executive than his detractors ever imagined.

Readers who’ve stuck with the Monitor over the years will forgive this rerun of sorts, but as we approach the fortieth anniversary of the Yom Kippur War – and with the stench of presidential indecisiveness hanging so heavily over Washington these days – it seemed only appropriate to revisit Richard Nixon’s role in enabling Israel to recover from the staggering setbacks it suffered in the first week of fighting.

Shakespeare had it right. The evil that men do indeed lives after them. Case in point: Nahum Goldmann, who served in a variety of Jewish and Zionist organizational leadership posts from the 1920s through the 1970s.

    Latest Poll

    Do you think the FAA ban on US flights to Israel is political?






    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/media-monitor/web-choices-2007revised-edition/2007/09/19/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: