It is possible to say that the only prohibition that will render an esrog as not being a fruit is if the issur is primarily an issur to eat. If the issur is primarily not to derive benefit, then although one may not eat it, it is still considered a fruit and therefore may be used for the mitzvah.
About the Author: For questions or comments, e-mail RabbiRFuchs@gmail.com.
If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.
Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.