web analytics
November 1, 2014 / 8 Heshvan, 5775
At a Glance
Judaism
Sponsored Post
Meir Panim with Soldiers 5774 Roundup: Year of Relief and Service for Israel’s Needy

Meir Panim implements programs that serve Israel’s neediest populations with respect and dignity. Meir Panim also coordinated care packages for families in the South during the Gaza War.



Home » Judaism » Parsha »

Using Non-Kosher Items For The Mishkan

Taste-of-Lomdus-logo

In Parshas Vayakhel the Torah continues detailing the building of the Mishkan and its vessels, and the kohanim’s garments. Rabbeinu Bachya points out that of all the materials that were donated to the building of the Mishkan, we do not find the inclusion of meshi (silk). His reason: because it is made from a worm, and only material that came from items that were tahor and were permitted to be consumed were used in the Mishkan.

Regarding this, the Acharonim say that even though techeiles comes from a non-kosher worm – the cheilazon – it was used in the Mishkan. There is a dispute, however, as to the kashrus of the cheilazon. Rashi, in Sanhedrin 91, says that the cheilazon was a worm from the sea, implying that it was not kosher. But the Radziner Rebbe, in Pesil Techeiles, writes that the Cheida says that the cheilazon was a kosher fish. Similarly, the Rambam (Hilchos Tzitzis 2:2) says that the cheilazon was a fish. This seems to contradict Rashi’s explanation of the cheilazon. The Noda B’Yehudah also says that according to the Rambam the cheilazon was in fact a kosher fish.

According to the latter opinion, it is obvious that the question of how techeiles was permitted in the Mishkan is a non-starter. Nonetheless, according to the opinion that holds that the cheilazon was a worm, we need to understand how it was permitted to be used in the Mishkan.

The Cheida (Nachal Kedumim, Parshas Terumah) says that according to those who opine that the cheilazon was a non-kosher fish, the reason it could be used in the Mishkan was because it was mixed with other ingredients. With this being so, we apply the halacha of zeh v’zeh goreim – when two things make a joint contribution, we allow the forbidden item (see Sanhedrin 80a).

The Radziner Rebbe cites several Rishonim who hold that one may eat the blood of a non-kosher fish. Only the flesh of the fish is prohibited to consume; the blood is permitted mi’de’oraisa. Since the techeiles dye is produced from the blood of the cheilazon fish, it would be a permitted material in the Mishkan.

The opposite was also true. The Gemara (Shabbos 108) says that tefillin may only be made from items that are permitted to be consumed; the hide must be from a kosher animal. The Gemara there says that if a kosher animal dies without shechitah and is now forbidden to be eaten (as it is a neveilah), its hide may still be used to make tefillin because the animal’s species are kosher.

Additionally, the Chasam Sofer (Teshuvos Orach Chaim 39) writes that many people use the gid hanasheh to bind Sifrei Torah, tefillin, and mezuzos even though gid hanasheh may not be eaten. Why? Because it comes from a kosher species. Therefore, even if the item that is being used cannot be eaten in its current state, it may be used if it is of a kosher species.

The Chasam Sofer’s proof regarding those who hold that the gid hanasheh may be used for tefillin is that the hides of eilim m’adamim were used in the Mishkan. These hides, dyed in blood, were forbidden to be eaten. Yet since the blood came from a species of animal that was kosher, its blood was permitted to be used with the materials of the Mishkan. The Chasam Sofer nevertheless adds that his rebbe, Rav Nosson Adler, opposed the allowance of the gid hanasheh to be used in binding Sifrei Torah, tefillin, and mezuzos.

The Mishnah Berurah (32:24) cites Acharonim who, disagreeing with the Chasam Sofer’s decision, prohibit the use of the gid hanasheh in binding Sifrei Torah, tefillin and mezuzos. Rav Chaim Kanievsky, shlita, writes in Maseches Sefer Torah that the basis of this opinion is that although the item may be unfit for consumption in its present state, as is evident from the aforementioned Gemara in Shabbos concerning neveilos of kosher animals, the item was at one time permitted to be eaten – namely, before they became neveilos. The gid hanasheh, on the other hand, was never permitted to be eaten.

According to the opinions disallowing the gid hanasheh to be used, we need to explain how the blood of the eilim was used in the Mishkan, since there was never a time when it was permitted to be consumed. The Noda B’Yehudah (Tenina Orach Chaim 3) explains that only something used for coloration purposes was allowed to be from a forbidden material. Therefore the blood of the eilim was permitted to be used as a dye.

Similarly, we can suggest that those who hold that the cheilazon was a non-kosher worm allowed it to be used in the Mishkan because it was only used for coloration purposes.

About the Author: For questions or comments, e-mail RabbiRFuchs@gmail.com.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “Using Non-Kosher Items For The Mishkan

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
Yehudah Glick on the Temple Mount.
Yehuda Glick’s Condition Stabilizing, “He Was Very Lucky” (1:00 PM)
Latest Judaism Stories
PTI-103114

People love their GPS; just type in the address and it tells you exactly how to get to where you want to go.

Grunfeld-Raphael-logo

In the same way as a married woman is precluded from marrying another man without a get, so too is this widow prohibited from marrying another man without chalitzah.

Daf-Yomi-logo

The Ban Of The Communities
‘Impaired Chalitzah’
(Yevamos 26b)

Question: I recently loaned money to a friend who has been able to repay only part of it. This was an interest-free loan. We exchanged a signed IOU, not a proper shtar with witnesses, since I have always trusted her integrity and only wanted a document that confirms what was loaned and what was repaid. Now that shemittah is approaching, what should I do? Should I forgive the loan? And if my friend is not able to repay it, may I deduct the unpaid money from my ma’aser requirement?

Name Withheld

“My mother raised us to independence, all of us,” Rivka says, which certainly plays itself out in the fact that all three children have taken a different path.

“ ‘We’re almost out of stamps,’ I said. ‘I’ll be happy to run over to the post office and pick up a supply.’ ”

Bris Bein Habesarim affirmed that Hashem gave the land to Avraham’s children. It does not specify for how long. It did not guarantee the Jewish people eternal ownership of the land

According to the Raavad if one who is uncircumcised breaks something he will be exempt from paying for it since he was chayav kares at the same time as he was obligated to repay for the item he broke.

Why does Hebrew refer to mothers-in-law as “sunshine” when society often calls them the opposite?

Having herself been victimized by Pharoah, Sarah should have been more sensitive to Hagar.

Avram’s father was not impressed with the cleverness of his son. In fact, he was so unimpressed that he took him to Nimrod the king, who pronounced him an enemy of the state and attempted to execute him.

How do the stories in Lech Lecha help us understand the central tension of Abraham’s life, legacy?

Abraham did not govern society but instead was the representative of God’s kingdom on earth.

Hagar grossly miscalculated her own merits and demonstrated a serious lack of gratitude for Sarai.

Noach was the lonely man of faith living in a depraved world, full of wickedness.

More Articles from Rabbi Raphael Fuchs
Taste-of-Lomdus-logo

According to the Raavad if one who is uncircumcised breaks something he will be exempt from paying for it since he was chayav kares at the same time as he was obligated to repay for the item he broke.

Taste-of-Lomdus-logo

Others suggest that one cannot separate Shabbos from Yom Kippur by accepting Shabbos early.

While women are exempt from actually learning Torah, they are obligated in a different aspect of the mitzvah.

The Chafetz Chaim answered that there are two forms of teshuvah; teshuvah m’ahava and teshuvah m’yirah.

Since it is a Rabbinic prohibition we may follow the more lenient opinion.

They ask, how can Rabbeinu Gershom forbid marrying more than one wife, when the Torah explicitly permits it in this parshah?

First, how could a beis din of 23 judges present a guilty verdict in a capital punishment case? After all, only a majority of the 23 judges ruled in favor of his verdict.

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/judaism/parsha/using-non-kosher-items-for-the-mishkan/2014/02/20/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: