A dream come true for would-be Kosher Starbucks lovers may become reality if Starbucks goes through with plans to replace a non-kosher extra for Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino and other products that contain cochineal extracts.
The extract for the drinks come from insects, which also bother veggies, and the company is planning to use a vegetarian-based extract as a substitute.
Kosher Today cautioned that Frappuccinos that are bought in Starbucks stores are not kosher, but if its extracts are replaced, the Orthodox Union (OU), which certifies some Starbucks products, may take another look at them.Jewish Press News Briefs
About the Author: JewishPress.com brings you the latest in Jewish news from around the world. Stay up to date by following up on Facebook and Twitter. Do you have something noteworthy to report? Submit your news story to us here.
If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.
Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.
If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.