web analytics
April 27, 2015 / 8 Iyar, 5775
At a Glance
Sections
Sponsored Post


Home » Sections » Food »

‘Quonfused’ About Quinoa

  Quinoa has become a part of the Passover diet for many observant Jews since the Star-K published an article Quinoa, The Grain That’s Not, in the Kashrus Kurrents for Pesach, 1997.


 


   In this article the Star-K explains that quinoa is not related to the five types of grain that can becomechometz, nor it is related to millet or rice. It is a species of goosefoot (chenopodium) related to the beet and spinach.

 

   Quinoa is grown in the Andes Mountains in locations that do not support growth of the five grains that can become chometz: wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt.

 

   Quinoa fills a diet hole for many people for Passover. These include people on gluten-free diets, vegetarians and vegans. It is also a non-meat protein source for dairy-intolerant people. It has become so mainstream that Susie Fishbein has featured recipes using quinoa in her bestselling Passover cookbook published last year by ArtScroll. Some of the companies that process quinoa do so in a chometz-free environment to enable the product to be consumed by people on a gluten-free or wheat-free diet.

 

   Regarding quinoa, the OU wrote, “Quinoa is not one of the five grains that can create chometz (wheat, oat, barley, spelt and rye). Nonetheless, there is a difference of opinion among rabbinic decisors as to whether quinoa is consideredkitniyos (Ashkenazic custom is not to eat kitniyos on Pesach). We suggest asking your Orthodox rabbi if it is or is not kitniyos.”

 

   The OU continues to say the following, “It should be noted that although quinoa is not grown in the same vicinity as the five chometz grains mentioned above, the processing of quinoa is often done at the same facility where they process wheat. Therefore, if you rely on the lenient opinion and treat quinoa as non-kitniyos, we suggest that you sift through the quinoa to make sure that there are no other grains mixed in.”

 

   My research has determined that different manufacturers provide different conditions for the packing of quinoa. This year, the Ancient Harvest plant has been checked and determined that the product is processed in chometz-free environment. Ancient Harvest states on their website, “As a grain, quinoa is gluten free. Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa is grown exclusively in the high Andean Altiplano regions of Bolivia. Our quinoa is grown at 12,000+-foot elevations in very arid conditions which will not support traditional gluten bearing grain production, therefore insuring us no possibility of potential field contamination with such grains. Our Traditional, Inca Red and Black whole grain quinoa is then cleaned, processed and packed in our quinoa-only organic and gluten free facilities. Ancient Harvest quinoa flour is produced in a different plant. Ancient Harvest also produces the Trader Joes brand.

 

   One of the other manufacturers, Arrowhead Mills packs their product on the same lines as they do flour, though on different days, after a clean up. This was confirmed by the OK who certifies this plant. The OK confirmed that Eden Foods quinoa, also under the OK, is usable for Passover, if checked before Passover.

 

   “The Star-K tested quinoa to see if it would rise It did not, it decayed. The result was as Chazal termed, sirchon; the quinoa decayed – it did not rise.”

 

   The Star-K considers quinoa to be kosher for Pesach provided it is purchased from a company that does not process chometz and the quinoa is checked before Passover.


   You should always follow the advice of your own rabbi. If using quinoa, consumers are urged to carefully check grains before Pesach for extraneous matter.

 

   Quinoa should also be rinsed to remove a bitter saponin layer that is found on the outside of the quinoa.

About the Author:


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “‘Quonfused’ About Quinoa”

Comments are closed.

Current Top Story
Senator Bob Corker (R-TN), co-sponsor of the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act.
Iran Legislative Compromises may Cause Nuclear Explosion in Washington
Latest Sections Stories
Reidel-042415

Several thousand Eastern European Jews had escaped Nazi death and Soviet persecution by fleeing to Shanghai, China.

Respler-logo-NEW

My mother-in-law and I have had our problems since the beginning of my marriage.

Food-Talk---Eller-logo

“People who never buy cookbooks are getting this one,” said Victoria. “They read it cover to cover and find it so interesting.”

South-Florida-logo

We have recently witnessed how other minorities deal with even perceived danger aimed at their brothers and sisters. They respond in great numbers.

The Hebrew Academy students took part in all categories and used successful and innovative techniques to achieve their goals.

“The objective behind establishing small communities as places for relocation was a remedy for the excessive cost of housing and education in the large New York metropolitan market,” Mr. Savitsky explained.

Jewish Democrats did not entirely trust the son of Joseph Kennedy, a man broadly considered to be both anti-Semitic and pro-Nazi.

The teenage years are not about surviving. They are about thriving.

Every moment was a gift. I held each one, savoring.

We arrived in Auschwitz on Thursday, January 30, 2014. My seminary was taking us to see where the prisoners were kept. When we got there, I stepped off the bus in complete and total silence. I was in the back, and when we got to the gate I hesitated and started shaking uncontrollably. I couldn’t […]

From the moment Israel was declared a Jewish state, it has been the subject of controversy and struggle.

Now that Pesach is over, we return you to your regularly-scheduled pressing questions:   Dear Mordechai, Can I use a nose hair trimmer during Sefirah? Harry Lipman   Dear Harry, Yes, as long as your nose hairs are so bad that they’re affecting your job. Like if you have a desk job, and they interfere […]

It is very natural for kids to want attention and to be jealous of each other, especially when there is a new baby.

More Articles from Arlene Mathes-Scharf

Quinoa has become a part of the Passover diet for many observant Jews since the Star-K published an article Quinoa, The Grain That’s Not, in the Kashrus Kurrents for Pesach, 1997.

Quinoa has become a part of the Passover diet for many observant Jews since the Star-K published an article Quinoa, The Grain That’s Not, in the Kashrus Kurrents for Pesach, 1997.

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/sections/food/quonfused-about-quinoa/2009/03/26/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: