web analytics
April 26, 2015 / 7 Iyar, 5775
At a Glance
Sections
Sponsored Post


If You Like My Column, You’ll Love My Book

Baseball-Insider

Let me tell you about my new book.

Like you, I’m interested in Jewish baseball players and Jewish history. So, after years of research, first-hand observations and interviews, I combined the aforementioned information from the post-civil war era to the present and came up with a book titled Jewish History in the Time of Baseball’s Jews: Life on Both Sides of the Ocean.

As I am one of the few around today to have interviewed the biggest Jewish sports hero of all time, the iconic Hall of Famer Hank Greenberg, the book will shed more light on him, his era and his post-playing years.

Another of the book’s perks is the foreword by Jewish Press Senior Editor Jason Maoz, which ties in well with the theme of the book.

The book was born when I took a tour of the new Holocaust Memorial Center in suburban Detroit about eight years ago. The docent turned out to be a former pro baseball player whose grandfather pitched in the major leagues. The docent and I became friends and he confided that he had married out of the faith and had never been inside a Jewish house of worship until his sixties.

I invited him to an Ohr Somayach Lunch ‘n Learn with one of those rabbis you always see in the Pesach hotel ads in The Jewish Press. My new friend liked what he heard and became a regular at the lunches. His wife also started to attend and eventually converted. You’ll read more about it in the book’s introduction.

Besides Jewish ballplayers, the docent and I shared an interest in Jewish history. We wondered what was happening to Jews on the other side of the ocean while Jews here were following Jews on the baseball field. We also wondered what would have happened to us if we’d been born on the other side of the ocean as Hitler dominated Europe and the targeting of Jews was the national pastime there.

Irwin Cohen’s new book follows the lives of Jewish players against the backdrop of Jewish history.

Irwin Cohen’s new book follows the lives of Jewish players against the backdrop of Jewish history.

The book contains information in narrative form on the following:

* The politician who went on to become president but kept it a secret that during the Holocaust he helped smuggle hundreds of Jews into the United States.

* The mayor of New York whose brother-in-law and nephew were murdered by the Nazis.

* The Jewish player who targeted Hitler’s top atomic scientist.

* The Jewish player who spied for America – and his final words.

* Sammy Cohen, who changed his name and had a long major league career.

* The Jewish player who suffered a heart attack during a game and died shortly afterward while still wearing his uniform.

* The pitcher who was scheduled to make his first major league start but was called home to sit shiva.

* Players who were sons of rabbis.

* Players became synagogue presidents.

* What every Jewish college student should know.

The aforementioned is just some of what you’ll find, along with more than 130 photographs.

So why isn’t the book, which is aimed at a national audience, in stores around the country?

Because mainstream publishers would have made an issue of my firm opinions on Israel and on what is happening on college campuses regarding Israel, which I write about in the book’s final chapter. Every word in this book is mine and I didn’t want an editor removing or changing my wording. So I had to pay for the printing and, hopefully, some day I’ll break even.

Maybe I’ll try to find a publisher in the future make some compromises so that the book can be seen by a larger audience. For now, though, the only way to get the book is by contacting me.

To order this informative book and get free shipping, send a check for $24.95, payable to Irwin Cohen, 25921 Stratford Place, Oak Park, Michigan, 48237-1027.

Of course you can buy several books. Each additional one is only $19.95. They make great gifts.

About the Author: Author, columnist, and lecturer Irwin Cohen headed a national baseball publication for five years and worked in a front office position for a major league team, becoming the first Orthodox Jew to earn a World Series ring. He can be reached in his dugout at irdav@sbcglobal.net.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “If You Like My Column, You’ll Love My Book”

Comments are closed.

Current Top Story
Car - A-Tor
Updated: Three Injured in Jerusalem Terror Attack, Ambulances and Mayor’s Car also Attacked
Latest Sections Stories
Food-Talk---Eller-logo

“People who never buy cookbooks are getting this one,” said Victoria. “They read it cover to cover and find it so interesting.”

South-Florida-logo

We have recently witnessed how other minorities deal with even perceived danger aimed at their brothers and sisters. They respond in great numbers.

South-Florida-logo

The Hebrew Academy students took part in all categories and used successful and innovative techniques to achieve their goals.

“The objective behind establishing small communities as places for relocation was a remedy for the excessive cost of housing and education in the large New York metropolitan market,” Mr. Savitsky explained.

Jewish Democrats did not entirely trust the son of Joseph Kennedy, a man broadly considered to be both anti-Semitic and pro-Nazi.

The teenage years are not about surviving. They are about thriving.

Every moment was a gift. I held each one, savoring.

We arrived in Auschwitz on Thursday, January 30, 2014. My seminary was taking us to see where the prisoners were kept. When we got there, I stepped off the bus in complete and total silence. I was in the back, and when we got to the gate I hesitated and started shaking uncontrollably. I couldn’t […]

From the moment Israel was declared a Jewish state, it has been the subject of controversy and struggle.

Now that Pesach is over, we return you to your regularly-scheduled pressing questions:   Dear Mordechai, Can I use a nose hair trimmer during Sefirah? Harry Lipman   Dear Harry, Yes, as long as your nose hairs are so bad that they’re affecting your job. Like if you have a desk job, and they interfere […]

It is very natural for kids to want attention and to be jealous of each other, especially when there is a new baby.

During the Second World War, a million and a half Jewish soldiers fought in the Allied armies, the Partisan units in Eastern Europe, and the anti-fascist underground movements in Western Europe and North Africa. These Jewish fighters won over 200,000 medals and citations. The Museum of the Jewish Soldier in World War II in Latrun, […]

The 2-day real estate event will take place in Brooklyn on April 26 and 27.

More Articles from Irwin Cohen
Baseball-logo-NEW

The Mets at least have hope for the future with some good young pitchers.

Baseball-logo-NEW

The big news this spring is that the Houston Astros and Washington Nationals will be leaving their old spring homes north of Port St. Lucie and moving south to a beautiful new complex scheduled to open in two years in West Palm Beach.

A famous face from that first ’52 Topps set was Alvin Dark, who died in his South Carolina home recently at 92.

As the years flew by, one thing remained constant in Sid’s life – the New York Yankees.

During 1939, anti-Semitic groups such as Fritz Kuhn’s German American Bund held rallies in New York and other major cities across the country.

The two World Series combatants, the Kansas City Royals and the San Francisco Giants, were Wild Card teams (meaning they didn’t win their respective divisions) that got hot at the right time.

Many former baseball players who left us with happy memories also passed away in the past year.

“No kid is worth a million dollars to sign,” Newhouser said, “but if one kid is, it’s this kid.”

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/sections/sports/baseball-insider/if-you-like-my-column-youll-love-my-book/2013/04/10/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: