web analytics
July 29, 2014 / 2 Av, 5774
Israel at War: Operation Protective Edge
 
 
Sections
Sponsored Post
IDC Advocacy Room IDC Fights War on Another Front

Student Union opens ‘hasbara’ room in effort to fill public diplomacy vacuum.



If You Like My Column, You’ll Love My Book

Baseball-Insider

Let me tell you about my new book.

Like you, I’m interested in Jewish baseball players and Jewish history. So, after years of research, first-hand observations and interviews, I combined the aforementioned information from the post-civil war era to the present and came up with a book titled Jewish History in the Time of Baseball’s Jews: Life on Both Sides of the Ocean.

As I am one of the few around today to have interviewed the biggest Jewish sports hero of all time, the iconic Hall of Famer Hank Greenberg, the book will shed more light on him, his era and his post-playing years.

Another of the book’s perks is the foreword by Jewish Press Senior Editor Jason Maoz, which ties in well with the theme of the book.

The book was born when I took a tour of the new Holocaust Memorial Center in suburban Detroit about eight years ago. The docent turned out to be a former pro baseball player whose grandfather pitched in the major leagues. The docent and I became friends and he confided that he had married out of the faith and had never been inside a Jewish house of worship until his sixties.

I invited him to an Ohr Somayach Lunch ‘n Learn with one of those rabbis you always see in the Pesach hotel ads in The Jewish Press. My new friend liked what he heard and became a regular at the lunches. His wife also started to attend and eventually converted. You’ll read more about it in the book’s introduction.

Besides Jewish ballplayers, the docent and I shared an interest in Jewish history. We wondered what was happening to Jews on the other side of the ocean while Jews here were following Jews on the baseball field. We also wondered what would have happened to us if we’d been born on the other side of the ocean as Hitler dominated Europe and the targeting of Jews was the national pastime there.

Irwin Cohen’s new book follows the lives of Jewish players against the backdrop of Jewish history.

Irwin Cohen’s new book follows the lives of Jewish players against the backdrop of Jewish history.

The book contains information in narrative form on the following:

* The politician who went on to become president but kept it a secret that during the Holocaust he helped smuggle hundreds of Jews into the United States.

* The mayor of New York whose brother-in-law and nephew were murdered by the Nazis.

* The Jewish player who targeted Hitler’s top atomic scientist.

* The Jewish player who spied for America – and his final words.

* Sammy Cohen, who changed his name and had a long major league career.

* The Jewish player who suffered a heart attack during a game and died shortly afterward while still wearing his uniform.

* The pitcher who was scheduled to make his first major league start but was called home to sit shiva.

* Players who were sons of rabbis.

* Players became synagogue presidents.

* What every Jewish college student should know.

The aforementioned is just some of what you’ll find, along with more than 130 photographs.

So why isn’t the book, which is aimed at a national audience, in stores around the country?

Because mainstream publishers would have made an issue of my firm opinions on Israel and on what is happening on college campuses regarding Israel, which I write about in the book’s final chapter. Every word in this book is mine and I didn’t want an editor removing or changing my wording. So I had to pay for the printing and, hopefully, some day I’ll break even.

Maybe I’ll try to find a publisher in the future make some compromises so that the book can be seen by a larger audience. For now, though, the only way to get the book is by contacting me.

To order this informative book and get free shipping, send a check for $24.95, payable to Irwin Cohen, 25921 Stratford Place, Oak Park, Michigan, 48237-1027.

Of course you can buy several books. Each additional one is only $19.95. They make great gifts.

About the Author: The author of 10 books, Irwin Cohen headed a national baseball publication for five years and interviewed the legendary Hank Greenberg. He went on to work for a major league team and became the first Orthodox Jew to earn a World Series ring. He can be reached in his Detroit area dugout at irdav@sbcglobal.net.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “If You Like My Column, You’ll Love My Book”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
IDF map of terrorist tunnels near Israeli communities near the Gaza border, already discovered and mapped. July 27, 2014
Alert IDF Eyes Foil New Tunnel Terror Infiltration Attempt
Latest Sections Stories
Teens-Twenties-logo

What Hashem desires most is that we learn to connect with each other as children in the same family.

Jerusalem to Jericho Road: photograph by Chanan Getraide
“Chanan Getraide Photographs”: 2004 exhibition at Hebrew Union College Museum

“We are living in a Golden Age of Jewish Art, but don’t know it.”

Respler-072514

The real solution to bullying is to empower the bullied child.

Time outs increases compliance and positive behavior far more than other forms of discipline

Interestingly, sometimes people who have a very high self-awareness may experience intense reactions to circumstances that others might respond to more mildly.

“You Touro graduates are automatically soldiers in [Israel’s] struggle, and we count on you,” Rothstein told the graduates.

The lemonana was something else. Never had we seen a green drink look so enticing.

On his marriage, he wrote: “This is what I believe: something of the core, of the essence of this meaningful and life-affirming Judaism will not be absent from our home” (1882).

With the recent kidnapping by the Hamas and the barbaric murder of three children – Gilad Shaar, Eyal Yifrach and Naftali Frankel, we believe that the best answer to honor the memory of those murdered is to continue building those very communities – large and small – that our enemies are trying to destroy.

Written entirely through Frayda’s eyes, the reader is drawn by her unassuming personality.

Adopting an ancient exegetical approach that is based on midrashic readings of the text, thematic connections that span between various books of the Bible are revealed.

While Lipman comes from an ultra-Orthodox background and is an Orthodox rabbi, he offers a breath of fresh air when he suggests that “polarization caused by extremism and isolationism in the religious community may be the greatest internal threat to the future of the Jewish people”

More Articles from Irwin Cohen
Baseball-Insider

Zimmer was popular with veteran teammates like Roy Campanella, Gil Hodges, Pee Wee Reese and Duke Snider – and with a rookie lefthander named Sandy Koufax.

Baseball-Insider

I’m sure readers noticed those full-page advertisements that ran prior to last month’s meeting about the situation at the Brooklyn home of Rabbi Moshe Tuvia Lieff, rav of Agudas Yisroel Bais Binyomin. Avrohom chaired the even along with his brother Menachem, a prominent askan and the president of Lubicom.

I spoke twice during Pesach. The first topic was the Holocaust and Jewish ballplayers and the second was how I, a frum-from-birth Jew, ended up in major league baseball.

Even if a player reaches the big league level, there’s still no guarantee he’ll remain with one team for long. Former Jewish outfielder Richie Scheinblum comes to mind.

The snow has melted in most parts of the country and here in Florida, where I have my winter dugout in the Orthodox enclave of Century Village in West Palm Beach, I had the opportunity to take in several spring training games.

If you’re visiting spring training sites, Arizona has two advantages – fewer games are rained out and the facilities are much closer to each other than is the case in Florida.

There were 15 Jews in the major leagues during the 2013 season, but only a few from a Jewish mother.

Musial told the taunted Jackie Robinson: “I want you to know that I’m not like many of the other guys on my team.”

    Latest Poll

    Do you think the FAA ban on US flights to Israel is political?






    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/sections/sports/baseball-insider/if-you-like-my-column-youll-love-my-book/2013/04/10/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: