Photo Credit: Courtesy Nefesh B'Nefesh
The 2017 winners of Sylvan Adams Nefesh B'Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize

The nomination period for the 2018 Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion (Builders of Zion) Prize has officially opened on Monday, October 30, with the awards eventually going to seven extraordinary English speaking Olim (immigrants) who have made a major contribution to the State of Israel.

A prestigious panel of committee members will select the winners from the categories of Science and Medicine, Community & Non-Profit, Education, Israel Advocacy, Arts, Culture & Sports, and Young Leadership. In addition, a lifetime achievement award will be bestowed upon an eighth deserving Oleh.


The Prize recipients will be announced on May 1, 2018.

“Each year we are amazed by the breadth and quality of the English speaking Olim who have had an enormous impact on the development of Israel,” said Nefesh B’Nefesh Co-Founder and Executive Director Rabbi Yehoshua Fass. “We are grateful to Sylvan Adams on his partnership and generosity in the pursuit to celebrate the vital contribution and impact of Anglo Olim on the Jewish State.”

Eligible candidates for the prize must have made Aliyah from an English-speaking country, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa, UK, and USA. The deadline for submitting nominations – at is January 1, 2018.

Last year’s honorees included: Professor Benjamin W. Corn, Head of the Institute of Radiotherapy at Ichilov Hospital in the field of Science & Medicine; Beth Steinberg, Director and Co-Founder of Shutaf Inclusion Programs and Artistic Director and Co-Founder of Theater in the Rough in the field of Community & Non-Profit; Rabbi Chaim Brovender, Founder and Rosh Yeshiva of in the field of Education; Professor Gerald Steinberg, President of NGO Monitor and Professor of Political Studies at Bar Ilan University in the field of Israel Advocacy; and Yoram Raanan, Contemporary Jewish Artist in the field of Culture, Art & Sports. Additionally, The Lifetime Achievement Awards were bestowed upon Professor Alice Shalvi for decades of inspiring contributions in shaping the status of women in Israel through education and advocacy and Professor Eliezer Jaffe for his accomplishments in nonprofit and philanthropic giving, raising awareness and support for Israeli citizen in need.


Previous articlePreventing ‘Customer Confusion,’ Elbit Splitting Civilian and Spyware Divisions
Next articleNetanyahu Honors WWI Soldiers from Australia, New Zealand, Who Liberated Holy Land
David writes news at