Photo Credit: Benny Lapid

Six individuals, NGOs and other Israeli ventures who have “contributed meaningfully towards global volunteering, international development and humanitarian aid while forging partnerships between Israel and global Jewry” were presented with the inaugural “Global Impact Awards” Thursday at a gala event in Tel Aviv.

President Reuven Rivlin was present for the ceremony, which highlighted humanitarians who “excel in making a positive impact in the developing world.”


The ceremony “highlights Israel’s commitment to international development and to strengthening the relationship between Israel and Diaspora Jewish communities through the work of Tikkun Olam,” organizers said.

Among the winners are six Israeli ventures, non-profits, and individuals and two non-Israeli citizens who have contributed meaningfully towards global volunteering, international development, and humanitarian aid while forging partnerships between Israel and global Jewry.

The awards are a joint initiative of the Society for International Development (SID) Israel, Walla! News and OLAM, an organization designed to help advance the global Jewish service movement that functions as a coalition of 54 organizations dedicated to promoting, enhancing and showcasing the impact of Jewish organizations and individuals in the field of global volunteering, aid and development, alongside several other partners.

“The winners … represent the best of our academic research, the best of Israeli innovation that has produced companies, innovations and technology of a quality and a quantity that is unparalleled in the world,” President Rivlin said.

“They also represent civil society, where the depth of specialization and the level of passion have made it groundbreaking, and the cooperation between Israel and Jewish communities around the world which brings a breath of fresh air, and acts as our force multiplier to do good in the world.”

Among the award recipients were Dr. Georgette Bennett, founder of the Multifaith Alliance for Syrian Refugees, and Jean-Claude Nkulikiyimfura, Executive Director of Agahozo-Shalom Youth Village (ASYV).

Other awardees were GivingWay, IsraAID, Tahal, Soapy Care, SSF-Rescuers without Borders, and Professor Samuel Pohoryles received a Lifetime Achievement Award,

Share this article on WhatsApp:

Previous articleQ & A: Kaddish Elevates (Part III)
Next articleRashida Tlieb, Jeremy Corbyn, and the Jews: An Israeli Assessment – The Tamar Yonah Show [audio]
Hana Levi Julian is a Middle East news analyst with a degree in Mass Communication and Journalism from Southern Connecticut State University. A past columnist with The Jewish Press and senior editor at Arutz 7, Ms. Julian has written for, and other media outlets, in addition to her years working in broadcast journalism.