Photo Credit: YouTube
Secretary of U.S. Homeland Security Jeh Johnson

Jeh Johnson, the U.S. Homeland Security Chief, announced on Tuesday, oct. 21, that passengers traveling to the United States from three West African nations where Ebola has broken out may use one of only five different airports.

All passengers from Liberia, Sierra Leone or Guinea will be required to fly into one of the following designated airports: New York’s Kennedy, Newark Liberty, Washington D.C.’s Dulles, Chicago’s O’Hare and Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta.


Johnson said in a statement that the five designated airports have enhanced screening and additional resources in place.

Of the estimated 150 daily passengers from the three affected West African nations, approximately 94 percent pass through the five designated airports.

Johnson said the new decision was based on the DHS’s “ongoing response to prevent the spread of ebola to the United States.”


Previous articleIsrael Attempts to Insert Reason into UN Debate About Middle East
Next article2 New Chief Rabbis Elected for Jerusalem After 10-Yr Hiatus
Lori Lowenthal Marcus is a contributor to the A graduate of Harvard Law School, she previously practiced First Amendment law and taught in Philadelphia-area graduate and law schools. You can reach her by email: