web analytics
October 2, 2014 / 8 Tishri, 5775
At a Glance
InDepth
Sponsored Post
Meir Panim with Soldiers 5774 Roundup: Year of Relief and Service for Israel’s Needy

Meir Panim implements programs that serve Israel’s neediest populations with respect and dignity. Meir Panim also coordinated care packages for families in the South during the Gaza War.



Home » InDepth » Monitor »

Web Picks


Media-Monitor-logo

The last time the Monitor listed some worthwhile websites and blogs it was back in the fall of 2009. So consider this listing a “Best of 2010/2011.”
As always, there’s no particular order to the list, and the views expressed on the various websites and blogs do not necessarily reflect the Monitor’s.

Some sites that appeared on the 2009 list have been removed either because they’ve become less active, disappeared entirely or the Monitor simply lost interest in their content. Several new additions appear in their place.

 

Jewish Current Issues (jpundit.typepead.com/jci)

 

Contentions (www.commentarymagazine.com/contentions)

 

The Daily Howler (www.dailyhowler.com)

 

Arts & Letters Daily (aldaily.com)

 

Spengler (firstthings.com/blogs/spengler)

 

Jewish Ideas Daily (jewishideasdaily.com)

 

Power Line (www.powerlineblog.com)

 

Big Journalism (bigjournalism.com)

 

Smooth Stone (smoothstoneblog.com)

 

Politics Daily (politicsdaily.com)

 

James Wolcott (vanityfair.com/online/wolcott)

 

Jewish Review of Books (jewishreviewofbooks.com)

 

LILEKS (lileks.com)

 

Seraphic Secret (seraphicpress.com)

 

Real Clear Politics (realclearpolitics.com)

 

The Atlantic Online (theatlantic.com)

 

News From Israel (isrinfo.demon.co.uk)

 

Politico (politico.com)

 

Sultan Knish (sultanknish.blogspot.com)

 

ConservativeHome (conhomeusa.typepad.com)

 

The Telegraph (blogs.jta.org/telegraph)

 

IsraPundit (israpundit.com)

 

Rabbi Steven Pruzansky (rabbipruzansky.com)

 

Capital J (blogs.jta.org/politics)

 

Front Page Magazine (frontpagemag.com)

 

The American Thinker (americanthinker.com)

 

Emes Ve-Emunah (haemtza.blogspot.com)

 

InstaPundit (instapundit.com)

 

Neo-Neocon (neoneocon.com)

 

National Review Online (nationalreview.com)

 

Jewish World Review (jewishworldreview.com)

 

Times Watch (timeswatch.org)

 

The Daily Caller (dailycaller.com)

 

Hirhurim/Musings (TorahMusings.com)

 

Cross-Currents (cross-currents.com)

 

The New Nixon Blog (blog.nixonfoundation.org)

 

The Daily Beast (thedailybeast.com)

 

Tablet (tabletmag.com)

 

Melanie Phillips (spectator.co.uk/melaniephillips)

 

The American Spectator (spectator.org)

 

The New Republic (tnr.com)

 

Regret The Error (regrettheerror.com)

 

Political Mavens (politicalmavens.com)

 

Boker Tov, Boulder! (bokertov.typepad.com/btb)

 

Media Matters (mediamatters.org)

 

News Busters (newsbusters.org)

 

American History (americanheritage.com)

 

The Weekly Standard (weeklystandard.com)

 

Pajamas Media (pajamasmedia.com)

 

Think-Israel (think-israel.org)

 

A Simple Jew (asimplejew.blogspot.com)

 

Vos Iz Neias (vosizneias.com)

 

PoliPundit (polipundit.com)

 

Haaretz (haaretz.com)

 

This Modern World (thismodernworld.com)

 

The Huffington Post (huffingtonpost.com)

 

The American Prospect (prospect.org)

 

Jewcy (jewcy.com)

 

The Politicker (observer.com/thepoliticker)

 

Media Research Center (mrc.org)

 

Baseball Crank (baseballcrank.com)

 

Faith and Fear in Flushing (faithandfearinflushing.com)

 

Mets Fan Blog (danabrand.com/blog)

 

 

Jason Maoz can be reached at jmaoz@jewishpress.com.

About the Author: Jason Maoz is the Senior Editor of The Jewish Press.


If you don't see your comment after publishing it, refresh the page.

Our comments section is intended for meaningful responses and debates in a civilized manner. We ask that you respect the fact that we are a religious Jewish website and avoid inappropriate language at all cost.

If you promote any foreign religions, gods or messiahs, lies about Israel, anti-Semitism, or advocate violence (except against terrorists), your permission to comment may be revoked.

No Responses to “Web Picks”

Comments are closed.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Current Top Story
Israeli PM Netanyahu and US Pres. Obama met in the Oval Office on Oct. 1, 2014.
Netanyahu-Obama Press Conference, Iran as Subtext [video]
Latest Indepth Stories
MK Moshe-Feiglin

Soldiers at various hospitals complained that they experienced hostility from Arab hospital staff.

Keeping-Jerusalem

“We have succeeded in raising an ideological generation that loves death like our enemies love life”

There is not even a hint of recognition that Hamas deliberately fires rockets at civilian targets in Israel while storing arms and rocket launchers among its own civilians in Gaza.

No one with any sanity would dream of rationalizing or justifying the depredations perpetrated on the Arab world by ISIS.

With $2 billion on hand the Islamic State is an extremely well-funded terrorist group that may pose a major international crisis for the U.S. and the world. Learn about their rise to power and the toll they’ve taken thus far.

In the recent Gaza war and its aftermath, we saw a totally illogical reaction from the world.

A., a teacher: “I do not know a single Gazan who is pro-Hamas at the moment, except for those on its payroll.”

Is the global community clear in its response to these extremist groups?

Like our fabled character, Don Quixote, President Obama has constantly spawned his own reality.

Boroujerdi was informed that “the pressures and tortures will increase until he has been destroyed.”

Fatah: Hamas stole relief aid for Gaza and distributed it amongst its followers in mosques.

Can teenagers seriously be expected to behave properly when they are surrounded by so much suggestive material? Is it fair to expose them (and ourselves) to so much temptation and then tell them, “Just say no”?

Washington remains ignorant of the need to dismantle alliances with various Muslim countries.

Defeating IS requires bombing its strongholds and recognizing the violent nature of Islam.

More Articles from Jason Maoz
William Safire

“It’s a lousy column and a dishonest one,” Halberstam wrote. “So close it. Or you will end up just as shabby as Safire.”

Charles Krauthammer

Wye would be seen to have set the groundwork for the creation of a Palestinian state

These are not necessarily the best all-around biographies or studies of the individual presidents listed (though some rank right up there), but the strongest in terms of exploring presidential attitudes and policies toward Israel.

The Clintonan “engagement” liberals remember with such fondness did nothing but embolden Arafat and Hamas and Hizbullah as they witnessed Israel’s only real ally elevate process ahead of policy.

What really makes one wonder about the affinity felt by certain Jews for Grant was the welcome mat he put out for some of the country’s most pernicious anti-Semites.

With 2013 marking half a century since Kennedy’s fateful limousine ride in Dallas, the current revels are exceeding the revisionist frenzies of years past, with a seemingly endless parade of books, articles and television specials designed to assure us that, despite everything that has come to light about him since his death, JFK was a great president, or at least a very good president who would have been great had his life not been so cruelly cut short.

As someone who for the past fifteen years has been writing a column that largely focuses on the news media, I’ve read what is no doubt an altogether unhealthy number of books on the subject. Most of them were instantly forgettable while some created a brief buzz but failed to pass the test of time. And then there were those select few that merited a permanent spot on the bookshelf.

George W. Bush has been getting some positive media coverage lately, with recent polls showing him at least as popular as his successor, Barack Obama, and a big new book about the Bush presidency by New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker (Days of Fire, Doubleday) portraying Bush as a much more hands-on chief executive than his detractors ever imagined.

Printed from: http://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/media-monitor/web-picks/2011/03/23/

Scan this QR code to visit this page online: